top of page

An Art Therapists' Personal Manifesto (Appendix)

In the interests of self-disclosure and self-participation, a client can purchase my art from public domains such as Etsy, local markets and stores, however existing and former clients cannot commission artworks.

  1. For the benefit of clients, I will privilege the promotion of art therapy services over my personal art business.

  2. When offering services other than art therapy (such as yoga classes) or when offering services in collaboration with non-art therapists, this will be clearly stated and labelled eg. as ‘educational’ or ‘social’ experiences.

  3. When working with clients, at the end of the first session, we will form an agreement regarding engagement in public spaces. This could include short greetings or, at the client’s request, completely ignoring each other.

  4. If a client chooses to attend a non-art-therapy event that I am running or attending, such as art or yoga classes, efforts will be made to speak with the client regarding boundaries prior to the session, or failing that, immediately after the session to ensure professional boundaries are maintained in the interests of duty-of-care for clients, and self-care.

  5. Where possible, I will use my business and internet skills to raise the profile of Art Therapy for the good of the community.

  6. I will periodically review this personal manifesto to ensure it meets the needs of my clients, my industry and serves my own desire to flourish

Comments


bottom of page